Chipper’s challenge FAQ

No ability to import .dat files for level?

Unfortunately at the moment reading those .dat files is beyond my capabilities 😦  I don’t have access to tools that can interpret to .dat files. Also, the game isn’t an actual port of the original. It’s a total remake, so in order to read the .dat files I’d need to talk to someone who has knowledge of either the Tile World code or Chip’s Challenge code.

Why so few levels?

As mentioned above, I recreated this game from the ground up. As such, the levels have to be created from scratch too. I’m gleefully building them in my spare time, but levels come with the time I have free.

I want custom controls?

Me too. I’ll be putting this in as soon as I can.

Why is the game so sluggish?

Yea, I agree. I will be reworking the graphical code eventually to make the response significantly better

 

About altriak
As a Programmer, I have always enjoyed making small applications that people find useful or can enjoy in their small time. It is this reason that I am now an Android developer.

4 Responses to Chipper’s challenge FAQ

  1. missingno says:

    Tile World is open-source, isn’t it? You could analyze how .dat files work from there.

  2. Sean says:

    Hey altriak, awesome to see my favorite child hood game.
    Is there any progress on maps? any way others without coding knowledge could help?

  3. Use to play this years ago, and have loaded it on our android . You should put ( the object of this level is ) with a cancel for those who don’t need them. We are a lot older than we used to be. thanks in advance Doug

Leave a Reply

